An Eco-Friendly Vineyard

"A great terroir can’t express itself without an appropriate work done"

Within the constant search of quality products and respect of the environment, Isabelle and Didier Gil made strong and strict choices for conducting the vineyard.

Château Haut-Peyrat is engaged in an environmental responsible approach. In a few months, it will be certified “SME” (Environmental Management System). It has already reached the level 2 of HVE (Environmental High Value) and is ready now to take the level 3, which will allow us to claim the “Environmental High Value Holding”.

 

 

 

The aim of our partnership between the consulting firm CIC and our technical manager is is to focus on soft or alternatives techniques. CIC acts in the sense of a reduction of the phytosanitary treatments thanks to their rigorous use of them, and promotes the success of the sustainable and biological fights.

An effluent treatment station has also been settled

Our certifications

Certification AREA Aquitaine

HVE Certification (level 3) in progress

The vine branches boiler

As the debate on energy-saving is very important nowadays, we want to use the fact 1 hectare of vines produces two tons of vine branches, that represents an hectare of vines produces two tons of vine branches, that represents about a thousand liters of fuel.

That’s in this clean and responsible way the Château Haut-Peyrat decided to be equipped of a vine branchers boiler. Then, instead of burning the vine branches at the end of the vines row after cutting, vines branches are crushed, dried, stored to finally be burned to heat the entire property, as well as heating water needed for thermoregulation of the wine store-house.

There is only a few wineries from Bordeaux using this kind of boiler while it definitely turns out to have a real economic interest, and first of all ecological.

Sheep in our vineyards

The sheep allow us to reduce the use of pesticides to weed between our rows of vines. The idea may seem innovative and yet it is not new. Indeed, in the past, sheep gladly rendered service to wine-growers by browsing the grass under the vines. Then, the era of chemistry (and therefore weed killers) chased sheep from the vineyards. Our pretty sheep, of the Suffolk breed, will therefore do us a great weeding service before the development of the vegetation (buds and leaves). We will be happy to present them to you when you next visit the property.

ABOUT

Château Haut Peyrat is located in the heights of the village of Cambes in the Bordeaux region.

The whole of the buildings is on the croup of a hill which offers a view on the territory of Entre-deux-Mers.

INFORMATION

Château Haut Peyrat

33880 Cambes

+33 5 57 80 47 27 

www.chateau-haut-peyrat.com

SOCIAL NETWORKS
  • Facebook Social Icon

Alcohol abuse is dangerous for health. Know how to consume in moderation.

Un vignoble éco-responsable

Un grand terroir ne peut s’exprimer sans un travail approprié

Dans la quête de qualité des produits et du respect de l'environnement, Isabelle et Didier Gil ont fait des choix forts et rigoureux dans la conduite du vignoble.

Le Château Haut-Peyrat s’inscrit donc dans une démarche responsable et environnementale soutenue. Dans quelques mois, la propriété sera certifiée SME (Système de Management Environnemental). Depuis 2 ans, elle a atteint le plus haut niveau de la certification HVE (Haute Valeur Environnementale). Il permet de revendiquer le label « d'Exploitation à Haute Valeur Environnementale ».

Une station de traitement des effluents a elle aussi été installée. Depuis peu, le Château possède une chaudière à sarment de vignes, cette dernière permet de générer en quantité suffisante le chauffage pour les vinifications au chai ainsi que pour l'intégralité du bâti. 

Nos certifications

Certification AREA Aquitaine

Certifié Exploitation à Haute Valeur Environnementale

La chaudière à sarments

Au moment où revient régulièrement le débat sur les économies d’énergie, un hectare de vigne produit deux tonnes de sarments, soit l’équivalent de 1 000 litres de fioul.

C’est dans cette démarche propre et responsable que la propriété a fait le choix de se doter d’une chaudière à sarments. Ainsi, au lieu de brûler les sarments en bouts de rangs en fin de taille, les sarments sont broyés, séchés et stockés afin d'être brûlés pour le chauffage de toute  la propriété. Il permet également la production d'eau chaude nécessaire à la thermorégulation de nos chais.

Aujourd'hui, que quelques rares propriétés bordelaises sont engagées dans cette démarche et elle s’avère pourtant avoir un réel intérêt écologique ainsi qu'économique.

Des brebis dans nos vignes

Les brebis nous permettent de réduire l’utilisation des pesticides pour désherber entre nos rangs de vignes. L’idée peut paraître innovante et pourtant elle ne date pas d'hier. Effectivement, autrefois, les moutons rendaient volontiers service aux viticulteurs en broutant l'herbe sous les pieds de vigne. Puis, l’ère de la chimie (et donc les désherbants) a chassé les moutons des vignes. Nos jolies brebis, de race Suffolk, vont donc nous rendre un grand service de désherbage avant le développement de la végétation (bourgeons et feuilles).

Nous serons ravis de vous les présenter lors de votre prochain passage à la propriété.

À PROPOS

Le Château Haut Peyrat est situé dans les hauteurs du village de Cambes dans le Bordelais.

L'ensemble des bâtisses est sur la croupe d'une colline qui offre une vue sur le territoire de l'Entre-deux- Mers.

INFORMATIONS

Château Haut Peyrat

33880 Cambes

+33 5 57 80 47 27 

www.chateau-haut-peyrat.com

RÉSEAUX SOCIAUX
  • Facebook Social Icon

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé. Sachez consommer avec modération.