Newspaper

Presse

Les Echos Week-End

3-4 Novembre 2017 | Jean-Francis Pécresse

Terre de Vins
Seen at Bordeaux Tasting: a second life in the heart of the vineyards

11 Décembre 2017 | Laura Bernaulte

(Photos Pierre Martinez)

Portrait of two neo-winemakers present under the bubble of Bordeaux and Superior Bordeaux this Sunday, who participated for the first time in the festival of great wines organized by "Terre de Vins".

 

Before, they were not winegrowers. But that was before. The Bordeaux vineyard is full of beautiful stories of reconversions in wine. Château Haut Peyrat (AOC bordeaux superior) and the Domaine de Valmengaux (AOC bordeaux), present this Sunday at “Bordeaux Tasting” are two examples of these life changes. Meet.

 

Chateau Haut-Peyrat
The desire to "take up new challenges" was imposed on Didier Gil while he was still managing the BNP. This enlightened amateur, who had "always dreamed of wine, but had not had the means before" decides to launch out in 2013. With his wife Isabelle, they are looking for a property to acquire in Bordeaux. And fall under the charm of a domain in Cambes, at the gates of Entre-Deux-Mers, with a vineyard on hillsides overlooking the Garonne and with a "magnificent terroir composed of four soils, gravels, clay-gravel, clay-limestone and pure clay ”. They acquired it in 2014, and renamed this area "Château Haut-Peyrat". The winegrower adventure is launched.

 

"The property was in its prime, there was everything to take back" remembers Didier Gil. Patiently, they begin a fundamental overhaul. The 20 ha vineyard (Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Sauvignon) has been restructured and is now used for sustainable farming. A vat room and a cellar are created to vinify the harvest, hitherto carried out in a cooperative, and a recruited team, led by Lucas Froment, technical director (and former member of Château Haut-Bailly). No oenologist-consultant to create the wines, “in order to keep our identity and our spontaneity” specifies Didier Gil, but the precious advice of their friend Jean-Luc Zuger (and at the head of the Château Malescot Saint-Exupéry, in Margaux ).


2015, the property's first bottled vintage, was released yesterday in the bubble in two vintages, 70% Merlot, 15% Cabernet Sauvignon and 15% Cabernet Franc. Two very distinct styles, the “Prélude” vintage, a blend of 25 year old vines spent 6 months in barrels (€ 9.50), fruity and easily accessible, and the great “Haut-Peyrat” wine, a blend of old vines, with a year of barrels (€ 13.90) with beautiful complexity, delicious and fresh at the same time, with a good length on the palate. With his wines, Didier Gil intends "to make it clear that in this appellation of Bordeaux superior, one can also make great wines". And it gives itself the means to get the message across. "I want to bring the brand to life by stepping up the efforts in terms of communication initiated since last May, thanks in particular to participation in numerous fairs and tastings. "And his efforts pay off:" I have good feedback at the shows, people find our wines very good and inexpensive! "He notes. Next steps, the creation of a pink and white cuvée from the 2017 vintage. And the growing openness to wine tourism. Today, the new winemaker "is having a blast and has" no regrets ", while conceding with a laugh" sometimes still drooling. "But tempers immediately by clarifying:" It is because we have important ambitions. If we were content with more average ambitions, it would be simpler! "

Sud Ouest

Chateau Haut Peyrat

Prelude 2015

Higher bordeaux. A few years of work have passed by to give new life to this property located on the heights of Cambes on the right bank and now in the hands of Isabelle and Didier Gil. This Prélude vintage bears the fruits of the work accomplished. All enhanced by this superb 2015 vintage. A garnet color, a nice nose of black fruit, a fleshy, rich and fruity mouth. The words are immediately benevolent. Here is a bottle to open now.

Price: € 9.50. 33880 Cambes.

05 57 80 47 27

La Bouteille du Mardi

20 Mars 2018 | Cesar Compadre

Philippe Maurange

Château Haut Peyrat 2015

The great wine is however more precise in the design of its tannins. The expression of its fruit is purer, more juicy with more freshness and persistence. A beautiful bottle, also with just the right amount of modernity and an intelligent fidelity to the elegance and classicism that mark true Bordeaux wines.

 

Château Haut Peyrat, Prélude 2015

Pretty bright and deep color which suggests a good concentration. Very good second wine. Well rounded tannins, spicy, woody, well balanced flavor which does not mask the expression of the fruits. Candied aromas, pepper on the finish.

Solar wine but with freshness. Really very pleasant, very Bordeaux with a modern touch but a classic frame. A wine in its time, elegant and unpretentious with a perfect balance.

To download our press review in PDF format:
ABOUT

Château Haut Peyrat is located in the heights of the village of Cambes in the Bordeaux region.

The whole of the buildings is on the croup of a hill which offers a view on the territory of Entre-deux-Mers.

INFORMATION

Château Haut Peyrat

33880 Cambes

+33 5 57 80 47 27 

www.chateau-haut-peyrat.com

SOCIAL NETWORKS
  • Facebook Social Icon

Alcohol abuse is dangerous for health. Know how to consume in moderation.

Nos revues de presse

Presse

Les Echos Week-End

3-4 Novembre 2017 | Jean-Francis Pécresse

Terre de Vins
Vu à Bordeaux Tasting : une deuxième vie au cœur des vignes

11 Décembre 2017 | Laura Bernaulte

(Photos Pierre Martinez)

Portrait de deux néo-vignerons présents sous la bulle des bordeaux et bordeaux supérieurs ce dimanche, qui participaient pour la première fois au festival des grands vins organisé par « Terre de Vins ».

Avant, ils n’étaient pas vignerons. Mais ça, c’était avant. Le vignoble bordelais regorge de belles histoires de reconversions dans le vin. Le château Haut Peyrat (AOC bordeaux supérieur) et le domaine de Valmengaux (AOC bordeaux), présents ce dimanche à « Bordeaux Tasting » sont deux exemples de ces changements de vie. Rencontre.

Château Haut-Peyrat
L’envie de « relever de nouveaux défis » s’est imposée à Didier Gil alors qu’il dirigeait encore la BNP. Cet amateur éclairé, qui avait « toujours rêvé de vin, mais n’en avait pas eu les moyens avant » décide de se lancer en 2013. Avec son épouse Isabelle, ils cherchent une propriété à acquérir à Bordeaux. Et tombent sous le charme d’un domaine à Cambes, aux portes de l’Entre-Deux-Mers, dotée d’un vignoble en coteaux dominant la Garonne et avec un « magnifique terroir composé de quatre sols, graves, argilo-graveleux, argilo-calcaires et argiles pures ». Ils l’acquièrent en 2014, et rebaptisent ce domaine « château Haut-Peyrat ». L’aventure vigneronne est lancée.

« La propriété était dans son jus, il y avait tout à reprendre » se remémore Didier Gil. Patiemment, ils entament une refonte de fond. Le vignoble de 20 ha (merlot, cabernets franc et sauvignon) est restructuré, et aujourd’hui exploité en culture raisonnée. Un cuvier et un chai sont créés pour vinifier la vendange, jusque-là portée en coopérative, et une équipe recrutée, emmenée par Lucas Froment, directeur technique (et ancien du château Haut-Bailly). Pas d’oenologue-consultant pour créer les vins, « afin de garder notre identité et notre spontanéité » précise Didier Gil, mais les précieux conseils de leur ami Jean-Luc Zuger (et à la tête du château Malescot Saint-Exupéry, à Margaux).


2015, premier millésime embouteillé de la propriété était décliné hier sous la bulle en deux cuvées, à 70% merlot, 15% cabernet sauvignon et 15 % cabernet franc. Deux styles bien distincts, la cuvée « Prélude », assemblage de vignes de 25 ans passé 6 mois de barriques (9,50€), fruitée et aisément accessible, et le grand vin « Haut-Peyrat », assemblage de vieilles vignes, avec un an de barriques (13,90€) à la belle complexité, gourmand et frais à la fois, avec une belle longueur en bouche. Avec ses vins, Didier Gil entend bien « faire comprendre que dans cette appellation de bordeaux supérieur, on peut aussi faire de grands vins ». Et il se donne les moyens de faire passer le message. « Je veux faire vivre la marque en accentuant les efforts en terme de communication enclenchés depuis mai dernier, grâce notamment à la participation à de nombreux salons et dégustations. » Et ses efforts paient : « j’ai de bons retours sur les salons, les gens trouvent nos vins très bons et pas chers ! » constate-t-il. Prochaines étapes, la création d’une cuvée rosée et d’une cuvée blanche à partir du millésime 2017. Et l’ouverture croissante à l’œnotourisme. Aujourd’hui, le nouveau vigneron « s’éclate et n’a « aucun regret », tout en concédant en riant « en baver encore parfois. » Mais tempère immédiatement en précisant : « c’est parce qu’on a des ambitions importantes. Si on se contentait d’ambitions plus moyennes, ce serait plus simple! »

Sud Ouest

Château Haut Peyrat

Prélude 2015

Bordeaux Supérieur. Quelques années de travaux sont passées par là pour redonner un nouveau souffle à cette propriété située sur les hauteurs de Cambes sur la rive droite et désormais entre les mains d'Isabelle et Didier Gil. Cette cuvée Prélude porte les fruits du travail accompli. Le tout bonifié par ce superbe millésime 2015. Une robe grenat, un joli nez de fruits noirs, une bouche charnue, riche et fruitée. Le propos est immédiatement bienveillant. Voilà une bouteille à ouvrir dès à présent. 

Prix : 9,50€. 33880 Cambes.

05 57 80 47 27

La Bouteille du Mardi

20 Mars 2018 | Cesar Compadre

Philippe Maurange

Château Haut Peyrat 2015

Le grand vin est cependant plus précis dans le dessin de ses tanins. L’expression de son fruit est plus pure, plus juteuse avec plus de fraîcheur et de persistance. Une belle bouteille, elle aussi avec juste ce qu’il faut de modernité et une intelligente fidélité à l’élégance et au classicisme qui marquent les vrais bordeaux.

Château Haut Peyrat, Prélude 2015

Jolie couleur brillante et profonde qui laisse présager une belle concentration. Très bon second vin. Tanins bien arrondis, saveur épicée, boisée, bien dosée qui ne masque pas l’expression des fruits. Arômes confits, poivre en finale.

Vin solaire mais avec de la fraîcheur. Vraiment très agréable, très bordelais avec une touche moderne mais une trame classique. Un vin dans son époque, élégant et non prétentieux avec un parfait équilibre.

Pour télécharger notre revue de presse au format PDF :
À PROPOS

Le Château Haut Peyrat est situé dans les hauteurs du village de Cambes dans le Bordelais.

L'ensemble des bâtisses est sur la croupe d'une colline qui offre une vue sur le territoire de l'Entre-deux- Mers.

INFORMATIONS

Château Haut Peyrat

33880 Cambes

+33 5 57 80 47 27 

www.chateau-haut-peyrat.com

RÉSEAUX SOCIAUX
  • Facebook Social Icon

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé. Sachez consommer avec modération.